Rangpur Riders clinch maiden BPL crown after Gayle's record ton

Rangpur Riders clinch maiden BPL crown after Gayle's record ton
Published : 12 Dec 2017, 23:02:58
Rangpur Riders clinch maiden BPL crown after Gayle's record ton
bbarta desk
Print AA-A+
Destructive opener Chris Gayle scored his record second blistering unbeaten ton in the tournament as Mashrafe Bin Mortaza led Rangpur Riders clinched their maiden AKS Bangladesh Premier League T20 title with a 57-run victory over Dhaka Dynamites in the high voltage final match held on Tuesday evening at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium at Mirpur here.
A chasing a massive winning target of 207 runs set by Rangpur, Dhaka Dynamites suffered early batting jolt and could not recovered from their early digester as they were eventually restricted at 149 for 9 in 20 overs. 
Chris Gayle blasted an unbeaten 69-ball off 146 as Rangpur Riders post a daunting total of 206 for 1 from their allotted 20 overs, after they were forced to bat first by Dhaka Dynamites. 
The Caribbean big hitting batsman Gayle, who took 57 balls to complete his breezy century, hit an amazing 18 sixes, the record of BPL history, on his way to his new individual record total of 146 runs while there were also five fours in his dominating innings as he destroyed the well balanced Dhaka's bowling attacks sending the ball all square of the park.
The West Indian power-hitter smashed three big sixes off Shakib Al Hasan's in the final over of the match to finish proceedings and helped to post a massive total for Rangpur. Rode on his destructive batting Rangpur added 64 runs from their last 18 balls. 
The left hander Caribbean batsman also shared a record 201 runs second wicket partnership with Brendon McCullum who provided an ample support during the process with a well-knock unbeaten 43-ball off 51 runs that studded with four boundaries and three over boundaries after Shakib sent back to opener Johnson Charles early in the innings. 
Gayle's ton is also the third century of this season's BPL, after he scored an unbeaten 126-run knock against Khulna Titans in the eliminator and his fellow Johnson Charles hammered a polish 105-run against Comilla Victorians in the second qualifiers. This was his 20th T20 hundred and five of them have come in the BPL. 
All rounder Shakib Al Hasan was the most successful bowler for Dhaka as he took the lone Dhaka's wicket conceding 26 runs from three overs which included a maiden.
In reply, Dhaka suffered early batting jolt as Mashrafe Mortza struck early dismissing opener Mehedi Maruf in the third ball of the first over.
Shohag Gazi sent back to Joe Denly in the next over, leaving Dhaka in a deep trouble.
Pressure mounted on Dhaka as the defending champions lost Evin Lewis for 15. Lewis attempted to hit the ball but Mortaza took a smart catch at long on off a Shohag Gazi's delivery. 
Wickets fell in regular intervals and the Dhaka Dynamites batsmen hardly at any position to fight back in the match.
The highlight of Dhaka's dilapidated innings was birth day boy Juhurul Islam's well played 50-run innings followed by Shakib Al Hasan (26) and Sunil Narine's (14).
Nazmul Islam, Isuru Udana and Shohag Gazi shared two wickets each conceding 8, 25 and 32 runs respectively. Gayle was adjudged the player of the match for his impressive century. He was also named the player of the tournament for his brilliant batting performance in the tournament.
The champions received Taka two crore while the runners-up got Taka seventy five lac as prize money.-BSS

Editor : Bani Yasmin Hasi

46 Kazi Nazrul Islam Avenue

Karwan Bazar, Dhaka-1215

Phone: 02-8144960, Mobile: 01192151115

Email: [email protected], [email protected]

© 2018 all rights reserved to www.bbarta24.net Developed By: Orangebd.com